It is time for the flavors of Fall even though it is still 95 outside…

Image

Fall is my favorite season.  I love the cooler weather and the changing leaves.  It is not quite fall yet (it was 95 out today- yuck!) but the Fall flavors are starting to become available.  My husband and I have been partaking of some of them.

Beer

We like beer.  Our household tends to favor darker beer that will put hair on your chest (luckily that hasn’t happened to me!) and seasonal beers.  As soon as the fall beer flavors started to appear we started tasting them.

Here are a few of my favorites:

Southern Tier Pumpking: I had this on tap at a restaurant that has an ever-changing beer selection.  I usually have it in a bottle and I think having the draught version made all the difference in me falling in love with it again.  6 or 7 years ago I had this beer and LOVED it, also in draught form.  It was so pumpkiny and flavorful, but whenever we got it in a bottle it seemed to fall short of the yum factor.  I was glad that when we had it again this year it was almost as tasty as the first time. (I will not trust that my memory of the first taste is 100% accurate- perhaps it was the new experience that first time and it will always be the best flavor)

Blue Moon Harvest Pumpkin Ale:  I thought that this was very flavorful and worth a try if you are looking for a widely available fall beer. We plan on getting a bit more of this before the season is up.

Sierra Nevada Tumbler Autumn Brown Ale:  Not pumpkin, I know, but not everything about fall has to be pumpkin (I suppose, anyway). This beer was rich and tasty and well worth getting if you see it in the store. I think that we are going to add this to the beer hoard before it goes away for the season.

I really want to try Newcastle Werewolf, which is an Irish Red Ale. I like Irish Red Ales and I like the concept of werewolves associated with my beer.  I will not, however, drink wine named Werewolf.  I did that in college once and it was nasty!  Our fault from buying from the discount rack at the liquor store.

Non-beer

Apparently my experience of fall is currently only in relation to beer.  The only other fall tastes I’ve had is at Starbucks in the form of the Pumpkin Spice Latte. I have tried this 2 different ways: hot with soy milk and cold with regular milk.  My preference is the hot with soy milk.  Make sure you still get whipped cream, though, because the beginning of the drink will taste like pumpkin pie.

I look forward to all of the rest of the fall tastes I will get to enjoy as we transition into a new season. What kind of foods and drinks have you found to be good so far?  What are you looking forward to?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

